Event

Workplace Violence Prevention: Implementing Strategies for Safer Healthcare Organizations

Don’t miss this opportunity to learn from The Joint Commission and the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) during the “Workplace Violence Prevention: Implementing Strategies for Safer Healthcare Organizations” webinar on Wednesday, July 25, from 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (PT)/12:30-1:30 p.m. (MT)/1:30-2:30 p.m. (CT)/2:30-3:30 p.m. (ET).

Enjoy a review of the OSHA 2015 Guidelines for Preventing Workplace Violence for Healthcare and Social Service Workers, as well as The Joint Commission’s standards related to Workplace Violence (WPV) prevention. Then, hear about the work of Judith Arnetz, PhD, MPH, PT, Department of Family Medicine, Michigan State University, who will describe how a multi-hospital, tailored intervention study effectively reduced violent events. You’ll also learn how to apply this approach to your organization.

For more than 20 years, OSHA and The Joint Commission have collaborated to help organizations comply with existing requirements, as well as provide information, guidance and access to training resources (https://www.jcrinc.com/about-jcr/osha-alliance/). Recently, the OSHA Alliance has focused on the growing problem of WPV, a significant hazard in the health care industry. 

At this time, neither OSHA nor The Joint Commission have specific requirements/standards for WPV prevention programs, however, ample guidance exists. OSHA issued revised Guidelines for Preventing Workplace Violence for Healthcare and Social Service Workers in 2015. In addition, OSHA released Preventing Workplace Violence: A Road Map for Healthcare Facilities in 2015. In 2016, OSHA published a request for information for the prevention of WPV in the healthcare and social service settings, and the need to develop a standard. OSHA is currently reviewing the comments submitted to the record, and a standard to prevent WPV in healthcare and social assistance is listed as “Prerule Stage” on the Spring 2018 Regulatory Agenda. 

The most recent Joint Commission Sentinel Event Alert on this topic published in April 2018, and it focused on physical and verbal violence against health care workers.

If you can’t make it, register anyway. We’ll send you the webinar replay and other valuable resources.

Register here